Officers and Fellows

AAJR OFFICERS
Prof. Gershon Hundert

President
McGill University
gershon.hundert@mcgill.ca

Prof. David Sorkin

Vice President
City University of New York
david.sorkin@yale.edu

Prof. Marsha Rozenblit

Treasurer
University of Maryland
mrozenbl@umd.edu

Prof. Ephraim Kanarfogel

Secretary
Yeshiva University
kanarfog@yu.edu

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE
Prof. Miriam Bodian

University of Texas at Austin
bodian@austin.utexas.edu

Prof. Elisheva Carlebach

Columbia University
ecarlebach@columbia.edu

Prof. Todd Endelman

University of Michigan
endelman@umich.edu

Prof. Martha Himmelfarb

Princeton University
himmelfa@princeton.edu

Prof. Alan Mintz

Jewish Theological Seminary of America
almintz@jtsa.edu

Prof. Deborah Dash Moore

University of Michigan
ddmoore@umich.edu

Prof. Derek Penslar

University of Toronto
derek.penslar@utoronto.ca

Prof. Adele Reinhartz

University of Ottawa
adele.reinhartz@uottawa.ca

Prof. Seth Schwartz

Columbia University
srs166@columbia.edu

Prof. David Stern

Harvard University
dstern@fas.harvard.edu


FELLOWS

Prof. Robert Alter

University of California, Berkeley
altcos@uclink4.berkeley.edu

Prof. Gary Anderson

University of Notre Dame
anderson.194@nd.edu

Prof. Arnold Band

University of California, Los Angeles
band@humnet.ucla.edu

Prof. Leora Batnitzky

Princeton University
batnitzk@princeton.edu

Prof. David Berger

Yeshiva University
dberger@gc.cuny.edu

Prof. Jay Berkovitz

University of Massachusetts
jrb@judnea.umass.edu

Prof. Adele Berlin

University of Maryland
aberlin@deans.umd.edu

Prof. David Biale

University of California, Davis
dbiale@ucdavis.edu

Prof. Jonathan Boyarin

Cornell University
jboyarin@cornell.edu

Prof. Daniel Boyarin

University of California, Berkeley
boyarin@berkeley.edu

Prof. Ross Brann

Cornell University
ross.brann@cornell.edu

Prof. Michael Brenner

American University
mbrenner@american.edu

Prof. Marc Brettler

Brandeis University
brettler@brandeis.edu

Prof. Vicki Caron

Cornell University
caronvicki@hotmail.com

Prof. Robert Chazan

New York University
rc2@nyu.edu

Prof. Mark R. Cohen

Princeton University
mrcohen@princeton.edu

Prof. Martin Cohen

HUC-JIR
mcohen@huc.edu

Prof. Shaye Cohen

Harvard University
scohen@fas.harvard.edu

Prof. Herbert Davidson

University of California, Los Angeles
hdavidso@ucla.edu

Prof. Hasia Diner

New York University
hrd1@nyu.edu

Prof. John Efron

University of California, Berkeley
efron@berkeley.edu

Prof. Arnold Eisen

Jewish Theological Seminary of America
areisen@jtsa.edu

Prof. David Ellenson

Hebrew Union College
presoff@huc.edu

Prof. Yaakov Elman

Yeshiva University
yelman@yu.edu

Prof. David Engel

New York University
de2@nyu.edu

Prof. Louis Feldman

Yeshiva University
lfeldman@yu.edu

Prof. Seymour Feldman

Rutgers University
seyfeld@yahoo.com

Prof. Yael Feldman

New York University
yf1@nyu.edu

Prof. Michael Fishbane

University of Chicago
mfishban@midway.uchicago.edu

Prof. Michael Fox

University of Wisconsin Madison
mvfox@wisc.edu

Prof. Steven D. Fraade

Yale University
steven.fraade@yale.edu

Prof. Harriet Freidenreich

Temple University
hfreiden@temple.edu

Prof. Shamma Friedman

Jewish Theological Seminary
talmud@netvision.net.il

Prof. Zvi Gitelman

University of Michigan
zvigitel@umich.edu

Prof. Norman Golb

University of Chicago
ngolb@uchicago.edu

Prof. Calvin Goldscheider

Brown University
calvin_goldscheider@brown.edu

Prof. Bernard Goldstein

University of Pittsburgh
brg@pitt.edu

Prof. David M. Goodblatt

University of California, San Diego
dgoodblatt@ucsd.edu

Prof. Arthur Green

Brandeis University
agreen@hebrewcollege.edu

Prof. Jeffrey Gurock

Yeshiva University
gurock@yu.edu

Prof. David Weiss Halivni

Bar Ilan University
david.halivni@biu.ac.il

Prof. Judith Hauptman

The Jewish Theological Seminary
juhauptman@jtsa.edu

Prof. Christine Hayes

Yale University
christine.hayes@yale.edu

Prof. Samuel Heilman

Queens College and Graduate Center, CUNY
scheilman@gmail.com

Prof. Alfred Ivry

New York University
alfred.ivry@nyu.edu

Prof. Martin Jaffee

University of Washington
jaffee@u.washington.edu

Prof. Richard Kalmin

Jewish Theological Seminary of America
rikalmin@jtsa.edu

Prof. Samuel Kassow

Trinity College
samuel.kassow@trincoll.edu

Prof. Steven Katz

Boston University
stk1@bu.edu

Prof. Barbara Kirshenblatt-Gimblett

New York University
bkg@nyu.edu

Prof. David Kraemer

Jewish Theological Seminary of America
dakraemer@jtsa.edu

Prof. Joel L. Kraemer

University of Chicago
jkraemer@midway.uchicago.edu

Prof. Chana Kronfeld

University of California, Berkeley
kronfeld@berkeley.edu

Prof. Berel Lang

Wesleyan University
blang01@wesleyan.edu

Prof. Jon Levenson

Harvard University
jon_levenson@harvard.edu

Prof. Baruch Levine

New York University
bal1@nyu.edu

Prof. Bernard M. Levinson

University of Minnesota
levinson@umn.edu

Prof. Bernard Lewis

Princeton University
blewis@princeton.edu

Prof. Deborah Lipstadt

Emory University
dlipsta@emory.edu

Prof. Steven Lowenstein

American Jewish University
mlowenst@earthlink.net

Prof. Shaul Magid

Indiana University
smagid@indiana.edu

Prof. Maud Mandel

Brown University
maud_mandel@brown.edu

Prof. Vivian Mann

Jewish Theological Seminary
vimann@jtsa.edu

Prof. Ivan Marcus

Yale University
ivan.marcus@yale.edu

Prof. Michael Meyer

HUC-JIR
mameyer@cn.huc.edu

Prof. David Myers

University of California, Los Angeles
myers@history.ucla.edu

Prof. Anita Norich

University of Michigan
norich@umich.edu

Prof. David Novak

University of Toronto
david.novak@utoronto.ca

Prof. Antony Polonsky

Brandeis University
polonsky@brandeis.edu

Prof. Benjamin Ravid

Brandeis University
ravid@brandeis.edu

Prof. Jehuda Reinharz

Brandeis University
jreinharz@brandeis.edu

Prof. Aron Rodrigue

Stanford University
aron.rodrigue@yahoo.com

Prof. David Roskies

Jewish Theological Seminary of America
daroskies@jtsa.edu

Prof. Jeffrey Rubenstein

New York University
jr6@nyu.edu

Prof. David Ruderman

University of Pennsylvania
ruderman@sas.upenn.edu

Prof. Herman Prins Salomon

SUNY Albany
herman_prins_salomon@hotmail.com

Prof. Jonathan Sarna

Brandeis University
sarna@brandeis.edu

Prof. Peter Schaefer

Princeton University
pschafer@princeton.edu

Prof. Raymond Scheindlin

Jewish Theological Seminary
rscheindlin@gmail.com

Prof. Lawrence Schiffman

New York University
lawrence.schiffman@nyu.edu

Prof. Menahem Schmelzer

Jewish Theological Seminary
meschmelzer@jtsa.edu

Prof. Ismar Schorsch

Jewish Theological Seminary of America
isschorsch@jtsa.edu

Prof. Naomi Seidman

Graduate Theological Union
Naomi@gtu.edu

Prof. Jeffrey Shandler

Rutgers University
jashandler@aol.com

Prof. Joseph Shatzmiller

Duke University
joshatz@duke.edu

Prof. Kay Kaufman Shelemay

Harvard University
shelemay@fas.harvard.edu

Prof. Mark Slobin

Wesleyan University
mslobin@wesleyan.edu

Prof. Mark Smith

New York University
mss11@nyu.edu

Prof. Hayim Soloveitchik

Yeshiva University
solo@yu.edu

Prof. Michael Stanislawski

Columbia University
mfs3@columbia.edu

Prof. Sarah Abrevaya Stein

University of California, Los Angeles
sstein@history.ucla.edu

Prof. Richard Steiner

Yeshiva University
rsteiner@ymail.yu.edu

Prof. Josef Stern

University of Chicago
j-stern@uchicago.edu

Prof. Magda Teter

Fordham University
mteter@fordham.edu

Prof. Jeffrey Tigay

University of Pennsylvania
jtigay@sas.upenn.edu

Prof. Abraham L. Udovitch

Princeton University
alud@princeton.edu

Prof. Jeffrey Veidlinger

University of Michigan
jveidlin@umich.edu

Prof. Chava Weissler

Lehigh University
chava.weissler@lehigh.edu

Prof. Beth Wenger

University of Pennsylvania
bwenger@sas.upenn.edu

Prof. Jack Wertheimer

Jewish Theological Seminary
jawertheimer@jtsa.edu

Prof. David Winston

Graduate Theological Union
davidswinston@comcast.net

Prof. Ruth Wisse

Harvard University
wisse@fas.harvard.edu

Prof. Elliot Wolfson

New York University
erw1@nyu.edu

Prof. Ziony Zevit

American Jewish University
zzevit@uj.edu

Prof. Steven Zipperstein

Stanford University
szipperstein@aol.com